On the 26 January each year, the City of Palmerston celebrates Australia Day at its Official Ceremony, which includes the official raising of the National Flag of Australia, welcoming the country’s newest residents with a special citizenship ceremony and presenting the City's coveted Australia Day Awards.

2019 Palmerston Award Winners

Citizen of the Year: Peta Preo  

Peta is a dedicated volunteer with Bereaved Parent Support NT.  She is on a roster to carry the ‘on call’ phone - when it rings it means someone is having the worst day of their lives as a child has passed away.

Peta is always available to attend the hospital to be there for parents experiencing grief and loss. She works tirelessly in Palmerston, raising funds for the support group, and is instrumental in accessing grants for the group.

Young Citizen of the Year: Denique Stewart   

High school student and part-time worker, Denique cares about engaging young people in events and celebrations to make Palmerston a more interesting and positive place for youth. She volunteers on numerous projects and finds time to share her creative and project management skills for the benefit of others.

She was actively involved with the Sanctuary Sessions program, a series of family-friendly music events held throughout the Dry Season in Palmerston, donating her time to design the aesthetics for the gigs and to bring safe, all-ages, free entertainment for Palmerston families. 

Community Event of the Year: Come Walk with me NT 

An annual event held in Palmerston in September, Come Walk with me NT, raises awareness for suicide prevention, with an aim to break down barriers and change attitudes.

As well as this event, each Saturday afternoon a small group of dedicated volunteers offer support for those who are suicidal and those bereaved by suicide at their meet and greet pop-up at the Oasis Shopping Centre.

Photos L to R: Peta Preo, Denique Stewart, Come Walk with me NT members, all accompanied with City of Palmerston Mayor Athina Pascoe-Bell and Australia Day NT committee member Bob Shewring.