The Young Territory Author Awards are an annual writing competition where entrants write and produce their own book.

The Awards aim to inspire children and young people in the NT to explore their ideas and turn them into stories.

The competition is open to all Territorians 18 years and under, and is organised in association with other public libraries and schools throughout the Northern Territory.

To enter

Download the entry form or collect from any public library or school throughout the NT. 

Entries close on 30 June 2018. Winners announced in August.


The Young Territory Author of the year receives $500.
The School Entry winner receives $500 for the school.
Regional area winners receive a $50 prize.
Age Category winners receive $50 voucher to the Bookshop Darwin.
Highly Commended in each age category receive a $30 voucher to the Bookshop Darwin.
Encouragement Awards in each age category receive a $20 voucher to the Bookshop Darwin.

ORGANISED BY: City of Darwin Libraries with support from Northern Territory Writers Centre, City of Palmerston and The Bookshop Darwin.