City of Palmerston

General elections for the City of Palmerston Council and office of the Mayor are held every four years, as outlined in the Local Government Act.

If a vacancy arises on Council during the four year term, a by-election is held and must take place within three months of the vacancy arising.  

Since May 2012, the NT Electoral Commission conducts all Council elections and voting is compulsory. On 29 June 2017, the Minister for Housing and Community Development Gerry McCarthy placed the City of Palmerston Council under official management and appointed Mr Mark Blackburn as the official manager.

The next general election for the City of Palmerston will be held on 17 March 2018. Click here to view the Election Timetable.

Key Dates
31 January 2018 - Candidate Information Session
2 February 2018 - Nominations open
13 February 2018 - Electoral roll closes (5 PM)
22 February 2018 - Nominations close (12 PM)
17 March 2018 - Election Day
26 March 2018 - Election Results

For more information on Local Government Elections, please visit the NT Electoral Commission website or Past Local Government Elections.

A Place for People

Council Offices
Civic Plaza, First Floor
1 Chung Wah Terrace,
Palmerston, NT, 0831
Palmerston, NT 0831

P 08 8935 9922 (24 hour service)
F 08 8935 9900

Office Hours
Monday to Friday 8.15am - 5.00pm
Closed public holidays

Palmerston Library
Goyder Square, The Boulevard
Palmerston, NT, 0831

P 08 8935 9999
F 08 8935 9998

Opening Hours
Monday - Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 12pm - 8pm
Saturday 10am - 1pm
Sunday 1pm - 4pm
Closed public holidays

Palmerston Recreation Centre
11 The Boulevard
Palmerston, NT, 0831

P 08 8935 9975
F 08 8935 9900

Office Hours
Monday - Friday 8.15am - 5pm
Closed public holidays