City of Palmerston

Civic Plaza

The City of Palmerston offices and Council Chambers are located on the first floor of Civic Plaza - corner of Chung Wah Terrace and University Avenue.

The Elected Council consists of the Mayor and six Aldermen including the Deputy Mayor.

Palmerston does not operate under a ward system with each Alderman serving the entire local community, rather than a specific region within the municipality.

Palmerston was originally governed by the Palmerston Development Authority, which later became the Palmerston Town Council, was designated a City in 2000 and became Palmerston City Council and now is known as the City of Palmerston.

Our Vision: City of Opportunity 

Our Mission: Building a Better Palmerston

Our Values: We are committed to: 

  • Community involvement and teamwork
  • Commitment and accountability
  • Sustainability and self sufficiency
  • Support for diversity
  • Respect for culture
  • A culture of continuous improvement
A Place for People

Council Offices
Civic Plaza, First Floor
1 Chung Wah Terrace,
Palmerston, NT, 0831
Palmerston, NT 0831

P 08 8935 9922 (24 hour service)
F 08 8935 9900

Office Hours
Monday to Friday 8.15am - 5.00pm
Closed public holidays

Palmerston Library
Goyder Square, The Boulevard
Palmerston, NT, 0831

P 08 8935 9999
F 08 8935 9998

Opening Hours
Monday - Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 12pm - 8pm
Saturday 10am - 1pm
Sunday 1pm - 4pm
Closed public holidays

Palmerston Recreation Centre
11 The Boulevard
Palmerston, NT, 0831

P 08 8935 9922
F 08 8935 9900

Operating Hours
Monday - Friday 8am - 7pm